Home » Section News, Statistics and the Environment

Section Congratulates Awardees

1 October 2009 683 views No Comment
Jun Zhu, ENVR Publications Chair

Upcoming Conferences

    The International Environmetrics Society (TIES) Meeting
    Margarita Island, Venezuela, June 20–25, 2010
    The theme for the meeting is “Evaluating Our Environment Under Changing Conditions: Methods and Challenges.” A call for papers will be out soon.

      International Statistical Ecology Conference
      Kent, England, July 2010

        Joint Statistical Meetings
        Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, July 31–August 5, 2010

          During our section’s business meeting and mixer at JSM this year in Washington, DC, our section chair, Gretchen Moisen, presented several awards.

          JSM Presentation Award

          Jonathon Hobbs, a PhD candidate at Iowa State University, won the JSM Presentation Award for his talk, “Large-Scale Structure in Multiparameter Markov Random Field Models,” which was presented during JSM 2008.

          The 2009 JSM Presentation Award was given to Joel Reynolds, a regional biometrician at the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service in Anchorage, Alaska, for his talk, “Effective and Efficient Monitoring of Steller’s Eiders at Izembek Lagoon, Alaska: Barriers and Pitfalls.” This award will be presented during next year’s JSM in Vancouver, BC, Canada.

          Young Investigator Award

          This year’s winner of the Young Investigator Award is Andrew O. Finley of Michigan State University for innovative research on hierarchical spatial models for large natural resources databases, optimization and application of nearest neighbors techniques for use with remotely sensed and ecological data, and software algorithm development.

          Distinguished Achievement Award

          This year’s winner of the Distinguished Achievement Award is William F. Christensen of Brigham Young University for promotion of undergraduate research in environmental statistics, outstanding record of collaboration with environmental scientists, innovative research on receptor modeling and pollution source apportionment, and service to the profession.

          If you have ideas about topic-contributed sessions, contact ENVR Program Chair Petrutza Caragea at pcaragea@iastate.edu.

          1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

          Comments are closed.