Home » Award Deadlines and Information, Member News

Listing of Award Deadlines and Information for December 2009

1 December 2009 680 views No Comment

Don Owen Award

Each year, the San Antonio Chapter presents the Don Owen Award to a statistician who embodies the three-fold accomplishments of Donald B. Owen: research, statistical consultation, and service to the statistical community.

Before his death in 1991, Owen was distinguished professor of statistics at Southern Methodist University in Dallas, Texas, and the author of seven textbooks, seven monographs, and more than 75 articles in refereed journals. He also trained 19 doctoral and master’s students, served as an applied statistician for 10 years at the Sandia Corporation, and operated his own consulting firm that specialized in quality control. Owen was editor of Communications in Statistics, associate editor of Technometrics, and associate editor of JASA. He edited more than 50 textbooks, including many for Taylor & Francis.

As a­­ sponsor of this award, Taylor & Francis promotes scientific research, supports educational programs, and rewards outstanding academic achievement in the sciences. The San Antonio Chapter is accepting nominations for the 2010 Don Owen Award from ASA chapters in North America. The nominee must be a member of the ASA, but is not required to be a member of the nominating chapter. In addition to a cover letter that highlights the accomplishments of the nominee, the nomination packet must contain the following:

  • Name of the nominee
  • Degrees (titles, dates, schools)
  • Present position(s), followed by significant former positions (with dates)
  • List of major publications having statistical content
  • List of activities related to teaching and dissemination of statistical knowledge
  • List of consulting activities related to statistical problems or editorial contributions
  • List of activities supporting the mission of the ASA and related professional organizations

To submit a nomination, send six copies of the nomination packet by February 1 to John Schoolfield, Academic Technology Services, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, 7703 Floyd Curl Drive, San Antonio, TX 78229-7931. Schoolfield can be contacted at (210) 567-2128 or schoolfield@uthscsa.edu with questions. Write “Owen Award” in the subject field of emails.

Julius Shiskin Award

Nominations are invited for the annual Julius Shiskin Memorial Award for Economic Statistics. The award is given in recognition of unusually original and important contributions to the development of economic statistics or the use of statistics in interpreting the economy. Contributions are recognized for statistical research, development of statistical tools, application of information technology techniques, use of economic statistical programs, management of statistical programs, or developing public understanding of measurement issues.

The award was established in 1980 by the Washington Statistical Society (WSS) and is now cosponsored by the WSS, National Association for Business Economics, and ASA Business and Economics Statistics Section.

Julius Shiskin, or “Julie,” was the commissioner of the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS). Earlier, he served as the chief statistician at the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) and chief economic statistician and assistant director of the U.S. Census Bureau. Throughout his career, he was known as an innovator. At the Census Bureau, he was instrumental in developing an electronic computer method for seasonal adjustment. In 1961, he published Signals of Recession and Recovery, which laid the groundwork for the calculation of monthly economic indicators, and he developed the monthly report Business Conditions Digest to disseminate them to the public. At OMB, he developed the policies and procedures that govern the release of key economic indicators and originated a social indicators report. At BLS, he was instrumental in preserving the integrity and independence of the BLS labor force data and directed the most comprehensive revision in the history of the Consumer Price Index (CPI), which included a new CPI for all urban consumers.

Completed nominations for the 2010 award must be received by March 5. Individuals and groups in the public or private sector from any country can be nominated. The award will be presented with an honorarium of $750 and additional recognition from the sponsors. A nomination form and list of previous recipients are available here.

For questions or more information, contact Steven Paben, Julius Shiskin Award Committee secretary, at paben.steven@bls.gov or (202) 691-6147.

Waksberg Award

Survey Methodology established an annual invited paper series in honor of Joe Waksberg to recognize his contributions to survey methodology. Each year, a prominent survey statistician is chosen to write a paper that reviews the development and current state of an important topic in survey methodology. The paper reflects the mixture of theory and practice that characterized Waksberg’s work.

The recipient of the Waksberg Award will receive an honorarium and give the 2011 Waksberg invited address at the Statistics Canada Symposium. The paper will be published in a future issue of Survey Methodology.

­The author of the 2011 Waksberg paper will be selected by a four-person committee appointed by Survey Methodology and the American Statistical Association. Nomination of individuals to be considered as authors or suggestions for topics should be sent before February 28, 2010, to Dan Kasprzyk at DKasprzyk@Mathematica-MPR.com.

Previous Waksberg Award winners include Gad Nathan, Wayne Fuller, David Holt, Norman Bradburn, J. N. K Rao, Alastair Scott, Carl-Erik Särndal, Mary Thompson, Graham Kalton, and Ivan Fellegi.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.