Home » Award Deadlines and Information, Member News

Listing of Award Deadlines and Information for January 2010

1 January 2010 1,631 views No Comment

Cox Award

The Gertrude M. Cox Award Committee is seeking nominations for the 2010 Gertrude M Cox Award. The award was established in 2003 in memory of Cox (1900–1978) through a joint agreement between the Washington Statistical Society (WSS) and RTI International. It annually recognizes a statistician in early to mid-career (roughly fewer than 12 years after his/her terminal degree) who has made significant contributions to one or more of the areas of applied statistics in which Cox worked: survey methodology, experimental design, biostatistics, and statistical computing.

The award is presented at the WSS annual dinner, usually held in June, with the recipient delivering the keynote address on a topic of general interest to the WSS membership. It includes a $1,000 honorarium, travel expenses to attend the dinner, and a commemorative plaque.

In 1945, Cox became director of the Institute of Statistics of the Consolidated University of North Carolina. In the 1950s, as head of the department of experimental statistics at North Carolina State College, she played a key role in establishing mathematical statistics and biostatistics departments at The University of North Carolina. Cox became the first head of the Statistical Research Division at the newly founded RTI upon her retirement from North Carolina State University in 1960. She was a founding member of the International Biometric Society (IBS) and, in 1949, became the first woman elected into the International Statistical Institute. She served as president of both the ASA (1956) and IBS (1968–1969). In 1975, she was elected to the National Academy of Sciences.

This award is made possible by funding from RTI International, and the recipient is chosen by a six-person committee. This year’s committee consists of Paul Biemer, Phil Kott, and Marcus Berzofsky from RTI and Karol Krotki (chair), John Eltinge, and Michael Brick from WSS. Past recipients include Sharon Lohr, Alan Zaslavsky, Tom Belin, Vance Berger, Francesca Domenici, Thomas Lumley, and Jean Opsomer.

Nominations should be sent to Karol Krotki at kkrotki@rti.org by February 28.

Ellis R. Ott Scholarship

The Statistics Division of the American Society for Quality has $5,000 scholarships to support students who are enrolled in, or are accepted into, a master’s degree or higher program with a concentration in applied statistics and/or quality management. This includes the theory and application of statistical inference, statistical decisionmaking, experimental design, analysis and interpretation of data, statistical process control, quality control, quality assurance, quality improvement, quality management, and related fields. The emphasis is on applications, as opposed to theory. Studies must take place at North-American institutions.

Qualified applicants must have graduated in good academic standing in any field of undergraduate study. Scholarship awards are based on demonstrated ability, academic achievement, industrial and teaching experience, involvement in student or professional organizations, faculty recommendations, and career objectives.

Click here to download application instructions and forms. Forms will be accepted until April 1.

Throughout the last 12 years, scholarships totaling $175,000 have been awarded to 34 students. Last year’s winners include Wendy Kisch of Iowa State University in the PhD category and Jessica Jaynes of the University of California, Los Angeles, in the master’s category.

The scholarship’s governing board consists of Susan Albin, Nancy Belunis, Lynne Hare, J. Stuart Hunter, Tom Murphy, Robert Perry, Susan Schall, and Ronald Snee.

For more information, contact Hare at lynne.hare@comcast.net or 39 Mile Drive, Chester, NJ 07930.

Waksberg Award

Survey Methodology established an annual invited paper series in honor of Joe Waksberg to recognize his contributions to survey methodology. Each year, a prominent survey statistician is chosen to write a paper that reviews the development and current state of an important topic in survey methodology. The paper reflects the mixture of theory and practice that characterized Waksberg’s work.

The recipient of the Waksberg Award will receive an honorarium and give the 2011 Waksberg invited address at the Statistics Canada symposium. The paper will be published in a future issue of Survey Methodology.

The author of the 2011 Waksberg paper will be selected by a four-person committee appointed by Survey Methodology and the American Statistical Association. Nomination of individuals to be considered as authors or suggestions for topics should be sent before February 28, 2010, to Dan Kasprzyk at DKasprzyk@Mathematica-MPR.com.

Previous Waksberg Award winners include Gad Nathan, Wayne Fuller, David Holt, Norman Bradburn, J. N. K Rao, Alastair Scott, Carl-Erik Särndal, Mary Thompson, Graham Kalton, and Ivan Fellegi.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.