Home » People News

People News for April 2010

1 April 2010 1,198 views No Comment

Marie Davidian

Marie Davidian is the recipient of the North Carolina State University Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal for Excellence—the highest award given by NC State in recognition of faculty career accomplishments.

Davidian will receive a medal and a framed certificate at the university’s commencement dinner May 14 and also will be recognized at the commencement ceremony. Medal recipients’ names are inscribed on a plaque that is on permanent display in the faculty senate chambers.

Established in 1992, the Holladay Medal recognizes members of the NC State faculty who have made outstanding contributions to the university through achievements in research, teaching, or service over their careers. Award recipients are approved by the university board of trustees.

Donald Gaver



Donald Gaver, distinguished professor of operations research at the Naval Postgraduate School in Monterey, California, since 1970, was named the 2009 recipient of the U.S. Army Wilks Award. The award was presented to Gaver on October 21 at the 2009 Army Conference on Applied Statistics at Arizona State University.

The Wilks Award goes to an individual who has made substantial contributions to statistical methodology and to applications impacting the practice of statistics in the Army. At the award ceremony, special mention was made of Gaver’s strong contributions to statistical modeling and inference and to multiple aspects of reliability theory and its applications.

Ingram Olkin

Ingram Olkin


The department of biostatistics at the Harvard School of Public Health named Ingram Olkin recipient of the 2010 Marvin Zelen Leadership Award in Statistical Science. Olkin, a CHP/PCOR Fellow, is a professor of statistics and education at the department of statistics, Stanford University. On May 21 at Harvard University, Olkin will deliver a public lecture titled “Measures of Heterogeneity, Diversity, and Inequality.”

This annual award honors Marvin Zelen’s long and distinguished career as a statistician and his major role in shaping the field of biostatistics. It recognizes an individual in government, industry, or academia who, by virtue of his/her outstanding leadership, has greatly impacted the theory and practice of statistical science. While individual accomplishments are considered, the most distinguishing criterion is the awardee’s contribution to the creation of an environment in which statistical science and its applications have flourished. In addition to delivering the public lecture, Olkin will be presented with a citation and an honorarium.

Nominations for next year’s award should be sent to the Marvin Zelen Leadership Award Committee, Department of Biostatistics, Harvard School of Public Health, 655 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115. Nominations should include a letter describing the contributions of the candidate, specifically highlighting the award criteria, and a curriculum vitae. Supporting letters and materials would be helpful to the committee.

Nominations must be received by November 1.

Flournoy Part of Math Panel

Nancy Flournoy, second from left...

Nancy Flournoy, second from left, was part of a panel of mathematicians discussing the new math at the recent New Yorker Festival. Others in the photo include (left to right) Moderator Ben McGrath, Flournoy, Bill James, Sudhir Venkatesh, and Nate Silver. To read about the discussion visit the University of Missouri’s College of Arts and Sciences web page at

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.