Home » Award Deadlines and Information, Member News

Listing of Award Deadlines and Information for May 2010

13 May 2010 775 views No Comment

ASQ Scholarships

The Statistics Division of the American Society for Quality offers up to five grants to cover the cost of registration, meals (up to $50), and lodging for students who wish to attend the Fall Technical Conference (FTC). July 1 is the deadline to apply. The FTC is sponsored jointly with the ASQ’s Chemical and Process Industries Division and the ASA Section on Physical and Engineering Sciences. This year’s FTC will be held October 7–8 at the Wynfrey Hotel in Birmingham, Alabama.

Grants are available for currently enrolled undergraduate and graduate students of statistics and quality management. Travel costs are not covered. Recipients may be asked to serve as room monitors for a session at the conference and will be required to write a brief article about their conference experience for the Statistics Division newsletter.

Conference details can be found here.

Applicants should send a letter of interest and a letter of recommendation from a major professor by July 1 to: FTC Student Grant Awards Chair, Timothy Robinson, University of Wyoming, Department of Statistics, Laramie, WY 82071-3332. Email: tjrobin@uwyo.edu.

Notifications will be mailed by September 1.

Janet Norwood Award

Nominations are due June 25 for the ninth annual Janet L. Norwood Award for Outstanding Achievement by a Woman in the Statistical Sciences. The award is sponsored by the Section on Statistical Genetics and the department of biostatistics in the School of Public Health, University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB). The award recipient will be invited to deliver a lecture at the UAB award ceremony and will receive the award, a $5,000 prize, and coverage of all expenses.

Eligible individuals are women who have completed their terminal degree, have made outstanding contributions to the statistical sciences, and, if selected, are willing to deliver a lecture at the award ceremony. For additional details about the award, visit the web site here.

Nominations must include a full curriculum vitae accompanied by a letter of not more than two pages in length describing the nature of the candidate’s contributions. Contributions may be in the area of development and evaluation of statistical methods, teaching of statistics, application of statistics, or any other activity that can arguably be said to have advanced the field of statistical science. Self-nominations are acceptable.

Please send nominations to: David B. Allison, PhD, Professor & Head Section on Statistical Genetics, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Department of Biostatistics, 1665 University Blvd., RPHB 327, Birmingham, AL 35294-0022. Email: dallison@uab.edu. The winner will be announced by July 2.

NAG Student Awards Program

The Numerical Algorithms Group (NAG) announces that it will mark its 40th anniversary this year by expanding its student prize program. The new awards are intended to cultivate the next generation of numerical software talent worldwide.

“I have fond memories of visiting NAG early in my career, having fascinating discussions about software and numerical and scientific programming,” says Stuart Feldman, Google vice president of engineering. “The quality and passion of NAG’s people, and their drive both to make the life of scientists better and to take advantage of the newest and best results in the math software field was as clear then as it is now.”

The new NAG 40th Anniversary Awards are intended to help nurture the next generation of leaders in science and computing. In the spirit of NAG’s four decades of collaboration with leaders in computing, academia, and industry, NAG invites departments from institutions across the world to become involved with the student prizes. Awards will be offered for the best performances in a master’s of science program, best projects, and/or best numerical solutions.

Other NAG-funded prizes include the Wilkinson Prize for Numerical Software, the NAG Prize in Applied Numerical Computing, and the NAG Prize in Mathematical Finance. For more information on NAG’s student awards program visit their web site here.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.