Home » Award Deadlines and Information, Member News

Listing of Award Deadlines and Information for June 2010

1 June 2010 1,234 views No Comment

Deming Lecturer

Nominations for the 2011 Deming Lecturer Award are due July 15. The awardee will give the Deming Lecture (an invited paper) at the Joint Statistical Meetings and receive a $1,000 honorarium, award plaque, and funds to cover travel expenses.

To be considered for the award, an individual must have made significant contributions in fields related to those in which Deming devoted his career (e.g., survey sampling, statistics in the transportation industry, quality management, and quality improvement) or, more broadly, have made significant contributions through effective promotion of statistics and statistical thinking in business or industry.

For more information, email A. Blanton Godfrey, selection committee chair, at abgodfre@ncsu.edu.

Nominations can be sent by email to ASA Executive Secretary Pam Craven at pamela@amstat.org or by mail to the ASA office, ATTN: Award Nominations, 732 North Washington St., Alexandria, VA 22314–1943.

JPBM Communications

Nominations are due July 15 for the Joint Policy Board for Mathematics (JPBM) Communications Award, given annually since 1988. The $1,000 prize is awarded to communicators who, on a sustained basis, bring mathematical ideas and information to nonmathematical audiences. Both mathematicians and nonmathematicians are eligible.

In addition to the professional address and phone number of the nominator, nominations should include the nominee’s name, institution, position, CV, professional address, email address, professional phone and fax numbers, home address, and home phone number. Also, at least one sample illustrating the nominee’s contribution to mathematics (e.g., books, videotapes, brochures, magazine articles) should be included.

Award nominations should be sent to Sastry Pantula, ASA president and selection committee chair, at pantula@stat.ncsu.edu. The award will be presented at the Joint Mathematics Meetings in New Orleans, Louisiana, in January of 2011.

Student Merit

The Society for Risk Analysis (SRA) Dose-Response Specialty Group will offer a merit award to a student conducting graduate research in dose-response assessment. The award includes a registration fee waiver to the 2010 SRA Annual Meeting, an engraved plaque, and a $500 honorarium. The winner will present his/her results and receive his/her award at the annual meeting.

The research may be on any topic broadly related to dose-response assessment, including laboratory investigation, methods development, comparative analyses, novel applications, studies on strengthening the role of dose-response assessment in risk assessment, uncertainty analysis, harmonization, dosimetry, genetics, and molecular biology.

All abstracts must be submitted for presentation at the 2010 SRA Annual Meeting, to take place December 5–8 in Salt Lake City, Utah. Click here for guidelines on abstract submission.

Further information and a link to examples of winners’ abstracts from previous years is available for download here (PDF download).

Questions should be addressed to Paul Schlosser at (919) 541-4130 or schlosser.paul@epa.gov.

William G. Hunter

William G. Hunter

Nominations for the American Society for Quality’s William G. Hunter Award are due July 15. The award will be presented at the 2010 Fall Technical Conference.

Hunter was the first chair of the Statistics Division of the American Society for Quality Control (now American Society for Quality). His leadership as a communicator, consultant, educator, and innovator and his ability to integrate statistical thinking into many disciplines serve as exemplary models for statisticians and researchers everywhere.

The award was established in 1987 to encourage and promote outstanding accomplishments during a career in applied statistics and to recognize an implementer who has achieved results. Any outstanding leader in the field of applied statistics, regardless of ASQ Statistics Division membership status, is qualified. Candidates must have demonstrated a high level of professionalism, provided significant contributions to the field, and built a history of inspirational leadership and application. A person may be nominated many times, but may win the award only once.

The nominator must have the permission of the person being nominated and letters from at least two other people supporting the nomination. Claims of accomplishments must be supported with objective evidence (e.g., publication lists and letters from peers).

Click here to download award criteria and nomination forms or obtain them from Robert H. Mitchell, Bldg. 225-04-S-18, 3M Center, 3M Company, Maplewood, MN 55144-1000; (651) 736-8684; rhmitchell@mmm.com.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.