Home » Biometrics, Member News, Section News

JSM 2011 Invited Program Announced

1 January 2011 2,261 views One Comment
Edited by Songthip Ounpraseuth, Biometrics Section Publications Officer

The Biometrics Section will sponsor the following invited sessions at JSM 2011 in Miami, Florida:

  • Classification in the Real World: The Development of Practical Predictions from High-Dimensional Markers
    Organizer: Karen Bandeen-Roche, The Johns Hopkins University
  • New Advances in Censored Data Analysis
    Organizer: Lu Tian, Stanford University
  • Statistical Methods for Risk Prediction Using High-Throughput Genomic Data
    Organizer: Xihong Lin, Harvard University
  • Recent Advances in Statistical Genomics
    Organizer: Hongyu Zhao, Yale University
  • Innovative Applications of Non- or Semiparametric Methods in the Fields of Biology and Medicines
    Organizer: Naisyin Wang, University of Michigan
  • New Developments in Sufficient Dimension Reduction
    Organizer: Xiangrong Yin, University of Georgia

Abstract submission opened December 1 for contributed and topic-contributed papers; all abstracts are due February 1.

Thank You
The Biometrics Section would like to thank Barry Graubard’s excellent service during the past year. He will assume the past chair position, while Jack Lee will become chair in 2011 and Dianne Finkelstein will serve as chair-elect.

Topic-contributed sessions are nice alternatives to regular sessions because they are organized around a central topic, the talks are longer (20 minutes, rather than 15), and one can have discussants. Sessions consist of five speakers (e.g., four speakers and one discussant; three speakers and two discussants). 2011 JSM Biometrics Section program chair, Tianxi Cai, is collecting proposals for topic-contributed sessions. If you are interested in organizing such a session, contact her at tcai@hsph.harvard.edu.

Topic-contributed panel sessions also are worth considering. These usually have between three and six panelists and require submitting just one abstract for the entire session. Note that if each speaker wishes to provide an abstract, speak on a specific topic, and submit a paper to the JSM Proceedings, a topic-contributed paper session would be a better fit.

2010 Byar Young Investigator Award and Travel Awards

The ASA Biometrics Section is seeking applications for the 2011 David P. Byar Young Investigator Award. This annual award is given to a young investigator for best emerging work to be presented during JSM. The award commemorates the late David Byar, a biostatistician who made significant contributions to the development and application of statistical methods and was esteemed as an exceptional mentor during his career at the National Cancer Institute. The winner will receive a $1,500 award. Additionally, the section may provide travel awards to the authors of other outstanding papers submitted to the competition.

Applicants must have held a doctorate in statistics, biostatistics, or a related quantitative field for three or fewer years as of April 1 of the current year or be enrolled as a doctoral student in statistics or biostatistics and in active pursuit of a doctoral degree. They also must be current members of the ASA Biometrics Section and first author of the paper submitted. (Membership in the ASA does not automatically confer section membership. Applicants may join at the time of submission for a $5 annual membership fee.) The paper may be submitted to a journal or under review, but may not have appeared online or in print at the time of the application or have been accepted for publication as of January 1, 2010. Also, the paper may not have been submitted to any other ASA section student/young investigator award competition. Finally, applicants must be scheduled to present the submitted paper at JSM 2011 as a talk or poster presentation.

Applicants must submit their JSM abstracts to the Biometrics Section in addition to submitting them to the ASA by February 1, 2011. They also must contact Cai at tcai@hsph.harvard.edu prior to the abstract deadline. The section will organize a series of topic-contributed sessions to highlight the submitted papers.

By March 1, applicants should complete their application by submitting a cover letter certifying that they meet the eligibility requirements and are not submitting the paper to another ASA section student/young investigator award competition, a current CV, and one copy of the finished paper. All materials must be submitted electronically to Barry Graubard, section chair, at graubarb@mail.nih.gov.

The 2011 awards committee is composed of the current and past section chairs and chair-elect, as well as three individuals appointed by the section chairs. More information can be found on the section website.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.