Home » Award Deadlines and Information, Member News

Janet Norwood Award

1 April 2013 148 views No Comment

The section on statistical genetics and the department of biostatistics in the school of public health at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) request nominations for the 10th annual Janet L. Norwood Award for Outstanding Achievement by a Woman in the Statistical Sciences.

The award recipient will deliver a lecture on September 11 at the UAB award ceremony and receive travel expenses and a $5,000 prize.

Eligible individuals are women who have completed their terminal degree and made extraordinary contributions to the statistical sciences. They also should have an outstanding record of service to the statistical sciences, with an emphasis on both their own scholarship and teaching and leadership of the field in general and of women in particular. If selected, the winner should be willing to deliver a lecture at the award ceremony. 

Nominations should include a full curriculum vitae accompanied by a letter of no more than two pages describing the nature of the candidate’s contributions. Contributions may be in development and evaluation of statistical methods, teaching of statistics, application of statistics, or any other activity that can arguably be said to have advanced the field of statistical science. Self-nominations are acceptable.

Send nominations by June 28 to David B. Allison, distinguished professor and director of the Nutrition Obesity Research Center, at dallison@uab.edu. The winner will be announced on July 8.

For details about the award, visit the UAB website.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.