Home » Member News, People News

People News for August 2013

1 August 2013 265 views No Comment

Bin Yu and Lawrence D. Brown

ASA members Bin Yu of the University of California at Berkeley and Lawrence D. Brown of the University of Pennsylvania, Wharton School, recently were elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in the Mathematics, Applied Mathematics, and Statistics section. The academy is an independent policy research center that conducts multidisciplinary studies of complex and emerging needs and problems, including geo-global politics, population and the environment, and the welfare of children. The international learned society elects to its membership men and women of exceptional achievement drawn from science, scholarship, business, public affairs, and the arts. Its 4,600 fellows and 600 foreign honorary members bring a wide range of expertise to the academy’s multidisciplinary analyses, projects, and studies.

Tom Fullerton



Tom Fullerton has been named the Trade in the Americas Endowed Chair of the department of economics and finance at The University of Texas at El Paso.

At UTEP, Fullerton coordinates the master’s economics program and directs the Border Region Modeling Project (BRMP). The BRMP research unit houses the 235-equation Borderplex Econometric Forecasting Model.

Fullerton formerly held the JPMorgan Chase and Wells Fargo endowed professorships at UTEP.

Frauke Kreuter



The Washington Statistical Society (WSS) and RTI International are pleased to announce that Frauke Kreuter, associate professor of the University of Maryland, has been chosen as this year’s recipient of the 2013 Gertrude M. Cox Award.

Since earning her PhD from the University of Konstanz in 2001, Kreuter has made many noteworthy contributions in survey methodology—specifically survey nonresponse, measurement error, and statistical modeling—all contributing to new insights in the field. She received the award at the WSS Annual Dinner Meeting June 25 and gave the keynote address, “Big Data in Survey Research: Analyzing Process Information (Paradata).”

Established in 2003 through a joint agreement between WSS and RTI, the Gertrude M. Cox Award recognizes statisticians in early to mid-career who have made significant contributions to statistical practice.

The award is in memory of Gertrude M. Cox (1900–1978), who in the 1950s, when head of the department of experimental statistics at North Carolina State College, played a key role in establishing mathematical statistics and biostatistics departments at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and a statistical division at the then newly founded not-for-profit RTI.

The award consists of a $1,000 honorarium, travel expenses to attend the WSS dinner, and a WSS plaque. Past recipients have been, in chronological order, Sharon Lohr, Alan Zaslavsky, Tom Belin, Vance Berger, Francesca Domenici, Thomas Lumley, Jean Opsomer, Michael Elliott, Nilanjan Chatterjee, and Amy Herring.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.