Home » Member News, Section News, Statistical Education

Statistical Education Section Reports on Year

1 October 2013 128 views No Comment
Larry Lesser

    The section had a productive JSM 2013 (under section program chair Amy Wagaman), sponsoring or co-sponsoring eight invited panels/sessions, 12 topic-contributed panels/sessions, seven contributed paper sessions, one poster session, and 13 roundtables. Ming-Wen An will chair the section’s JSM 2014 program.

    At the 2013 JSM plenary awards session, three section members were announced as new ASA Fellows: Julie Legler (St. Olaf College), Thomas Love (Case Western), and Alfredo Navarro (U.S. Census Bureau). Other education awards announced at JSM included the following:

    • Nathan Tintle (Dordt College) – 2013 Waller Education Award
    • Erin Blankenship (University of Nebraska – Lincoln) – National Mu Sigma Rho’s 2013 William D. Warde Statistical Education Award
    • Felix Elwert (University of Wisconsin-Madison) – Causality in Statistics Education Award
    • Tanner Caverly (University of Colorado at Denver) – Ron Wasserstein Award for the section’s best contributed paper of JSM 2012

    The annual $1,500 Jacqueline Dietz Award for the year’s best Journal of Statistics Education paper was presented to Roger Woodard and Herle McGowan for “Redesigning a Large Introductory Course to Incorporate the GAISE Guidelines,” which was published in the November 2012 issue. The section’s executive committee is working with the Waller Award Committee and Ray and Carolyn Waller to implement a lifetime achievement Waller award, newly approved by the ASA.

    Active section members also have recently won honors announced outside of JSM. At the 2013 Joint Mathematics Meetings, Jackie Miller (who moved this year from Ohio State to the University of Michigan) was announced by the SIGMAA on Statistics Education as the inaugural winner of the Robert V. Hogg Award for Excellence in Teaching Introductory Statistics. At the 2013 United States Conference on Teaching Statistics, Chris Franklin was presented with the 2013 USCOTS Lifetime Achievement Award.


    Winners of the spring 2013 election for the section are Chair-elect Bill Notz, Publications Officer Jennifer Kaplan, and Executive Committee at-Large members Kari Lock Morgan and Tim Jacobbe. Also, Chad Schafer was elected as a Council of Sections board representative. In 2013, the Section contributed support toward the Mathematical Association of America’s Project NeXT. Funding requests are due by February 1, 2014, to Jim Albert at albert@bgsu.edu.

    The section has been collecting feedback for internal and external purposes. As discussed at the section’s JSM business meeting, those with further thoughts about whether and how the section can help the ASA evaluate statistics MOOCs may email Deborah Nolan at Nolan@stat.berkeley.edu.

    A task force headed by Michelle Everson reviewed the College GAISE report and relayed its recommendations for updates to the ASA Education Council. Nick Horton is chairing the ASA’s Education Workgroup on Undergraduate Curriculum Guidelines, and comments about updating those (from 2000) may be emailed to him at nhorton@amherst.edu or relayed through the online form.

    Finally, members can expect to receive a link to a membership survey conducted by Nate Tintle, head of the section’s membership subcommittee.

    1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

    Comments are closed.