Home » Award Deadlines and Information, Member News

Jeanne E. Griffith Mentoring Award

1 January 2014 77 views No Comment

Nominations are sought for the 2014 Jeanne E. Griffith Mentoring Award, which was created to encourage the mentoring of junior staff in the statistical community in the federal, state, or local government. It is awarded annually to a supervisor; technical director; team coordinator; or other member of the federal, state, or local government statistical staff for his or her efforts in supporting the work and developing the careers of junior staff.

The award was established to honor Griffith, who died in 2001 after working for more than 25 years in the federal statistical system. Throughout her career, and especially in her latter senior management positions at the National Center for Education Statistics and National Science Foundation, one of Griffith’s highest priorities was to mentor younger staff at all levels to learn, grow, and seize career opportunities as they came along.

Nominations for 2014 will be accepted until April 4 and should be prepared in the form of a letter or memorandum for the award selection committee. The letter or memorandum should summarize the nominee’s actions that support and encourage junior staff in the federal, state, or local statistical community in developing their careers. Nominations may be accompanied by up to six supporting letters.

The committee will make its determination of the award winner by April 30. The award will consist of $1,000, a citation, and a plaque, which will be presented at a June ceremony arranged by the co-sponsors.

For more information about the nomination process, the guidelines are available as a PDF or word document.

If you have questions about the award, contact Rick Peterson at rick@amstat.org or Deborah Griffin at Deborah.h.griffin@census.gov.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.