Home » Section News, Statistics in Epidemiology

Statistics in Epidemiology Section News for October

1 October 2015 No Comment

2015 SIE Young Investigator Award Winners
Jeffrey Boatman, University of Minnesota
Amanda Koepke, Fred Hutchison Cancer Research Center
Emily Mitchell, National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
Ai Ni, The University of North Carolina
Fei Wan, Group Health Research Institute

The Section on Statistics in Epidemiology (SIE) invites applications from young investigators who will present their papers at JSM 2016, July 30 to August 4, in Chicago. The awards honor the best papers by young investigators in statistics in epidemiology presented at JSM.

The competition is open to all current graduate students in statistics, biostatistics, and epidemiology, as well as recent graduates who received their degrees no earlier than December 31, 2013. Applicants also must be members of the ASA.

Each award consists of $800 to help defray travel costs to JSM. Additionally, a reception will be held at the Chicago meeting to honor award recipients.

Preference will be given to papers with both methodological contributions and substantive epidemiological applications. Jointly authored papers are acceptable, but the applicant is expected to be the lead author and present the work at JSM 2016. The presentation may be in a regular session, speed session, or poster session. Further, the presentation does not have to be in a session sponsored by SIE, nor must applicants be current members of SIE. The presentation at JSM must, however, correspond to the paper receiving the award.

Papers must be in PDF format with a 12-point font and one-inch margins. They also must be double-spaced and no longer than 20 pages (including tables and figures, excluding references). Failure to meet these criteria will result in disqualification without notification.

To apply for the award, submit a paper no later than November 15. Early submissions are encouraged. Along with the paper, include a cover letter stating where you are a current student or your year of graduation if you are a recent graduate. Submissions should be sent to section secretary/treasurer Susan Shortreed at shortreed.s@ghc.org. Questions about the award may be addressed to 2016 section chair Miguel Hernan at mhernan@hsph.harvard.edu.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.