Home » Award Deadlines and Information, Member News

Nominations Sought for COPSS Awards

1 October 2012 No Comment

Nominations are being sought for the following awards presented by the Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies (COPSS).

The Fisher Lectureship is awarded for outstanding contributions to aspects of statistics and probability that closely relate to the scientific collection and interpretation of data. The award exists to recognize the importance of statistical methods for scientific investigations. The hour-long lecture is delivered during JSM. Eligible nominations should be sent in PDF format by December 15 to Kathryn Roeder, committee chair, at kathryn.roeder@gmail.com.

The Presidents’ Award is presented in recognition of outstanding contributions to the statistics profession. It is typically granted to an individual who has not yet reached his or her 41st birthday during the calendar year of the award. In the special case of an individual who has received his or her statistically related terminal degree no more than 12 years prior to the nomination deadline, a nominee will be eligible who has not yet reached his or her 46th birthday during the calendar year of the award. Eligible nominations should include a current curriculum vitae, the nominee’s date of birth, a nomination letter (up to three pages), and up to five supporting letters. Nominations should be sent in PDF format by January 15, 2013, to Raymond J. Carroll, committee chair, at copsspresidents2013@gmail.com.

The George W. Snedecor Award, established in 1976, honors an individual who has been instrumental in the development of statistical theory in biometry. The award is for a noteworthy publication in biometry within three years of the date of the award. Starting in 1991, this award has been given in odd years and consists of a plaque and cash award. Nominations of an individual and an associated publication or publications should be sent by January 15, 2013, to Nilanjan Chatterjee, committee chair, at chattern@mail.nih.gov.

The Florence Nightingale David Award is presented biennially to recognize a female statistician who exemplifies the contributions of Florence Nightingale David, an accomplished statistician in combinatorial probability theory and the first recipient of the Elizabeth L. Scott Award. The criteria for the award are excellence as a role model to women, excellence in statistical research, leadership of multidisciplinary collaborative groups, statistics education, and service to the profession. The award was established in 2001 and is sponsored jointly by COPSS and the Caucus for Women in Statistics. No member of the award committee or officer of the Caucus of Women in Statistics is eligible to receive the award during his or her term of service. Eligible nominations shall be based on a nomination letter, letters of support, curriculum vitae, and other appropriate documentation as requested by the award committee. Nominations should be sent by January 15, 2013, to Nancy Reid, committee chair, at reid@utstat.utoronto.ca.

These awards are jointly sponsored by the American Statistical Association, Institute of Mathematical Statistics, International Biometric Society (ENAR and WNAR), and Statistical Society of Canada. Detailed award criteria and nominating procedures are available at the NISS website.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.