Home » Award Deadlines and Information, Member News

Waller Education Awards

1 November 2013 No Comment
June Morita, Brad Hartlaub, and Nick Horton, Waller Education Awards Committee

Thanks to the generosity of Ray and Carolyn Waller, there are now two Waller awards to recognize outstanding statistical educators:

    The Waller Education Award honors individuals early in their careers (10 or fewer years of full-time teaching) who teach the first course in statistics in a college or university. Graduate teaching assistants also are eligible.

    The Waller Distinguished Teaching Career Award honors individuals with 20 or more years of statistics teaching experience.

The Waller Education Committee is accepting applications for both awards.

Waller Education Award

Key criteria for the Waller Education Award include a commitment to teaching elementary statistics and demonstrated innovation in the instruction. Broader impact of the nominee on statistical education beyond the nominee’s institution is also an important criterion.

Waller Distinguished Teaching Career Award

Key criteria for this award include excellence in teaching across a variety of statistics courses; innovation, scholarship, and creative efforts in education; and impact on statistics education beyond the nominee’s institution.

Nominations Guidelines

Nominators are encouraged to be as specific as possible and convincingly attest to the influence and effect of the nominee’s work in statistical education and teaching. Nominations are submitted as a packet, with up to four letters of support from students, colleagues, and supervisors, along with the nominee’s curriculum vita and a nomination letter of no more than four pages that address the selection criteria.

Nominations must be received by March 15, 2014.

Awards History

The award committee consists of six members, each of whom has an active interest in the teaching and learning of statistics. The committee helps encourage a large and diverse pool of nominations so to ensure the award selection process recognizes the achievements of a diverse group reflecting the breadth of the ASA membership and the profession. Once the nominations are complete, each committee member ranks them individually, before the committee as a whole creates a short list. For more information, see the guidelines for ASA awards committees on avoiding implicit bias.

Beth Chance was the inaugural winner of the Waller Education Award, with John Holcomb, Ginger Holmes Rowell, Roger Woodard, Joy Jordan, Jo Hardin, Steve Wang, Nicholas Horton, Amy Froelich, Michelle Everson, and Michael Posner previous recipients. Nathan Tintle was selected as the winner for 2013. His longstanding and deep commitment to teaching elementary statistics at Hope College and, more recently, Dordt has led to the growth of both programs. In addition, his scholarship and related research in statistical education has had demonstrated important nationally. Tintle received his award during the JSM 2013 awards ceremony.

JSM 2014 will mark the first time the Waller Distinguished Teaching Career Award will be given.

Ray Waller is a former executive director of the ASA. In 2002, he and his wife, Carolyn, made a generous contribution to the ASA to establish the first award. This past summer, they once again made a significant contribution that allowed the ASA to launch the new award.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.