Home » Award Deadlines and Information, Member News

Ellis R. Ott Scholarship

1 January 2014 No Comment

The Statistics Division of the American Society for Quality is pleased to announce the availability of $7,500 scholarships to support students enrolled in, or accepted into enrollment in, a master’s degree or higher program with a concentration in applied statistics and/or quality management. This includes the theory and application of statistical inference, statistical decisionmaking, experimental design, analysis and interpretation of data, statistical process control, quality control, quality assurance, quality improvement, quality management, and related fields. The emphasis is on applications, and studies must take place at North-American institutions.

During the last 16 years, scholarships totaling $245,000 have been awarded to 45 deserving students. Last year, scholarships went to Lucy D’Agostino of Washington University School of Medicine in the PhD category and Alyssa Peck of Montana State University and Holly Sweeney of North Carolina State University in the master’s category.

Qualified applicants must have graduated in good academic standing in any field of undergraduate study. Scholarship awards are based on demonstrated ability, academic achievement, industrial and teaching experience, involvement in student or professional organizations, faculty recommendations, and career objectives.

Applications will be accepted until April 1. Instructions and forms should be downloaded from ASQ’s website.

For more information, contact Lynne B. Hare at lynnehare@verizon.net.

Governing Board: Susan Albin, Lynne Hare, J. Stuart Hunter, Tom Murphy, Dean V. Neubauer, Robert Perry, Susan Schall, and Ronald Snee

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.