Home » Award Deadlines and Information, Member News

ASA Statistical Computing and Graphics Award

1 January 2020 No Comment
Recent Winners of the Statistical Computing and Graphics Award
Luke Tierney (2019)
Bill Cleveland (2016)
Robert Gentleman and Ross Ihaka (2010)

The ASA Statistical Computing and Statistical Graphics sections invite nominations of individuals or teams for the 2021 ASA Statistical Computing and Graphics Award, which recognizes innovation in computing, software, or graphics that has had a significant impact on statistical practice or research. The prize carries with it a cash award of $5,000 plus an allowance of up to $1,000 for travel to the Joint Statistical Meetings (JSM), where the award is presented.

Nomination packets must be submitted by email to Jun Yan, the awards chair for the two sections, by May 31. Yan will also answer questions about the submission process.


The prize-winning contribution will have had significant and lasting impact on statistical computing, software, or graphics.

The nominee should be a member of the ASA. Statistical Computing and Graphics Award Committee members will review the nominations and make the final determination of who, if anyone, will receive the award. Sitting members of the awards committee or executive committees are ineligible.


Nominations should be submitted as a complete packet, consisting of the following:

  • A nomination letter, no longer than four pages, addressing points in the selection criteria
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae
  • A minimum of three (and no more than four) supporting letters, each no longer than two pages

Selection Process

The committee will consist of the chairs and past chairs of the Statistical Computing and Statistical Graphics sections, who will meet during JSM 2020 to select the recipient(s) of the award.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.