Home » Member News, People News

People News for December 2021

1 December 2021 No Comment

Joe Cappelleri

ASA Fellow Joe Cappelleri, head of outcome research statistics, will receive this year’s International Society of Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research (ISPOR) Avedis Donabedian Outcomes Research Lifetime Achievement Award for his outstanding contributions over the years to patient health outcomes.
Cappelleri is the first pharmaceutical industry statistician to receive this award. In a letter to the review committee, Brown University adjunct assistant professor Jessica Roydhouse, wrote, “Joe’s impressive leadership in patient-reported outcomes has led to the development and psychometric validation of widely used tools in different disease areas. These tools have been included in clinical trials as part of regulatory evaluation and facilitated the inclusion of the patient experience in drug labels.”

Cappelleri has published approximately 600 articles, many in leading medical and statistical journals, and has been cited more than 24,000 times; 64 of his publications have been cited at least 64 times and 210 of them have been cited at least 10 times.

The ISPOR Avedis Donabedian Outcomes Research Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an individual’s outstanding, life-long achievement in improving health outcomes. The award is international in scope and stature.

The award was established in honor of the late Avedis Donabedian, who has been called the “father of outcomes research.” Donabedian was a renowned faculty member at the University of Michigan School of Public Health, multiple award-winner, author of eight books and more than 50 ­peer-reviewed articles, and presenter of countless lectures on outcomes research. He dedicated his life to improving the quality of health care and health care systems, directing such research toward health outcomes as the measure of quality.

Guido W. Imbens

ASA Fellow Guido W. Imbens, Joshua D. Angrist, and David Card were awarded the 2021 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2021. David Card earned half the winnings “for his empirical contributions to labour economics” and Angrist and Imbens split the other half “for their methodological contributions to the analysis of causal relationships.” Imbens’s seminal piece with Angrist was published in the Journal of the American Statistical Association in 1996.

Read more about this year’s laureates on the Nobel Prize website.

Cynthia Rudin

ASA Fellow Cynthia Rudin recently won the $1 million Squirrel AI Award for Artificial Intelligence for the Benefit of Humanity from the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence.

Rudin, former chair of the Statistical Learning and Data Science Section, is being cited for “pioneering scientific work in the area of interpretable and transparent AI systems in real-world deployments, the advocacy for these features in highly sensitive areas such as social justice and medical diagnosis, and serving as a role model for researchers and practitioners.”

Currently a professor at Duke University, Rudin earned undergraduate degrees in mathematical physics and music theory from the University at Buffalo before completing her PhD in applied and computational mathematics at Princeton. She is also a three-time recipient of the INFORMS Innovative Applications in Analytics Award, which recognizes creative and unique applications of analytical techniques.

Sherri Rose

Sherri Rose, associate professor of health policy at the Stanford School of Medicine and co-director of the Health Policy Data Science Lab was awarded the 2021 Mortimer Spiegelman Award. The award recognizes a statistician under age 40 who has made the most significant contributions to public health statistics. Rose’s research has been featured in The New York Times, USA Today, and The Boston Globe. 

Rose earned her PhD in biostatistics from the University of California, Berkeley, and a BS in statistics from The George Washington University before completing an NSF Mathematical Sciences Postdoctoral Research Fellowship at The Johns Hopkins University. Prior to joining the faculty at Stanford University, Rose was on the faculty at Harvard Medical School in the department of health care policy.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.