Home » Member News, People News

Two Awarded Ellis R. Ott Scholarships

1 August 2022 No Comment
Headshot of an Asian woman with long, straight dark hair. She is smiling.

Therese Azevedo

Therese Azevedo and Ann Marie Weideman were recently awarded Ellis R. Ott scholarships for the 2022–2023 academic year.

Azevedo is a graduate of Sonoma State University, where she earned her Bachelor of Science in statistics and was committed to both leadership and research opportunities. Her leadership roles included being a learning community mentor, resident adviser, and mathematics/statistics tutor. She was involved in a variety of research projects that explored topics such as safety issues with micromobility transportation and the impact of STEM mentorship.

Headshot of a white woman with wavy blonde hair. She is smiling.

Ann Marie Weideman

Ott Scholarship Governing Board Members
Lynne Hare, Chair
Mindy Hotchkiss
J. Stuart Hunter
Tom Murphy
Marcus Perry
Robert Perry
Susan O. Schall
Ronald Snee
J. Richard Trout
Neil Ullman
Mark Vandeven

She also had summer research experiences at both Purdue and Rutgers. Azevedo’s research interests range from environmental science to social science, with an emphasis on computational statistics. Currently, she is a data fellow at the National Science Foundation Arctic Data Center. She will be attending Montana State University to pursue her master of science in statistics.

Weideman is pursuing a PhD in biostatistics at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She works as a predoctoral trainee on a cancer genomics training grant and a graduate research assistant with the Center for AIDS Research Biostatistics Core. Prior to matriculation, she conducted research on multiple sclerosis at the National Institutes of Health Clinical Center and taught differential equations and statistics at a local engineering university. Weideman’s research interests involve cancer genomics, high-performance computing, clinical trials, and infectious disease. She also enjoys mentoring undergraduate students and creating opportunities for undergraduates to explore research in biostatistics.

Ellis R. Ott scholarships are awarded under the auspices of the Statistics Division of the American Society for Quality. Learn how to apply.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.