Home » Biometrics, Member News, Mental Health, Section News

Sections Announce Randall Awardee, Student Award Winners

1 September 2023 277 views No Comment

The Biometrics Section and Mental Health Statistics Section recently chose Felicia Simpson as winner of the 2023 Annie T. Randall Innovator Award.

Simpson is an associate professor of statistics and chair of the department of mathematics at Winston-Salem State University. She is recognized for her outstanding contributions to statistical methods, innovation in education, and dedication to building a diverse profession through leadership and service. Her nomination highlighted her “cutting-edge and impactful” statistical research in gerontology and her role as an “innovator in expanding opportunities for underrepresented students to enter careers in statistics.” Simpson received the award during the Biometrics Mixer during the Joint Statistical Meetings on August 7.

Winners of the 2023 Byar Award and student paper awards are the following:

    Byar Award

    • Sarah Lotspeich, Vanderbilt University, “Optimal Multi-Wave Validation of Secondary Use Data with Outcome and Exposure Misclassification”

    Student Paper Awards

    • Rong Ma, University of Pennsylvania, “A Spectral Method for Assessing and Combining Multiple Data Visualizations”
    • Cole Manschot, North Carolina State University, “Interim Monitoring of Sequential Multiple Assignment Randomized Trials Using Partial Information”
    • Chao Cheng, Yale University, “Doubly Robust Estimation and Sensitivity Analysis for Marginal Structural Quantile Models”
    • Bangyao Zhao, University of Michigan, “Bayesian Learning of COVID-19 Vaccine Safety while Incorporating Adverse Events Ontology”

    Awardees were also honored during the Biometrics Mixer on August 7 and gave presentations during the Biometrics Section Early Career Paper Award session on August 8.

    1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

    Leave your response!

    Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

    Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

    You can use these tags:
    <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

    This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.