Home » Additional Features, Award Deadlines and Information, Member News

Listing of Awards and Deadlines for May 2011

1 May 2011 No Comment

William G. Hunter Award

Nominations for the American Society for Quality’s William G. Hunter Award are due July 15. The award will be presented at the 2011 Fall Technical Conference.

William G. Hunter was the first chair of the Statistics Division of the American Society for Quality Control (now American Society for Quality). His leadership as a communicator, consultant, educator, and innovator and his ability to integrate statistical thinking into many disciplines serve as exemplary models for statisticians and researchers everywhere.

The award was established in 1987 to encourage and promote outstanding accomplishments during a career in applied statistics and to recognize an implementer who has achieved results. Any outstanding leader in the field of applied statistics, regardless of ASQ Statistics Division membership status, is qualified. Candidates must have demonstrated a high level of professionalism, provided significant contributions to the field, and built a history of inspirational leadership and application. A person may be nominated many times, but win the award only once.

The nominator must have the permission of the person being nominated and letters from at least two other people supporting the nomination. Claims of accomplishments must be supported with objective evidence (e.g., publication lists and letters from peers).

For award criteria and nomination forms, visit the ASQ awards web page, or contact Daksha Chokshi at (561) 796-8373 or daksha.chokshi@pwr.utc.com.

Janet Norwood Award

The section on statistical genetics and the department of biostatistics in the school of public health at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) request nominations for the tenth annual Janet L. Norwood Award for Outstanding Achievement by a Woman in the Statistical Sciences.

The award recipient will deliver a lecture on September 14 at the UAB award ceremony and receive travel expenses and a $5,000 prize.

Eligible individuals are women who have completed their terminal degree and made extraordinary contributions to the statistical sciences. They also should have an outstanding record of service to the statistical sciences, with an emphasis on both their own scholarship and teaching and leadership of the field in general and of women in particular. If selected, the winner should be willing to deliver a lecture at the award ceremony.

Nominations should include a full curriculum vitae accompanied by a letter of no more than two pages describing the nature of the candidate’s contributions. Contributions may be in development and evaluation of statistical methods, teaching of statistics, application of statistics, or any other activity that can arguably be said to have advanced the field of statistical science. Self-nominations are acceptable.

Send nominations by June 24 to David B. Allison, distinguished professor and head of the section on statistical genetics, dallison@uab.edu. The winner will be announced July 1.

For details about the award, visit the UAB website.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.