Home » Award Deadlines and Information, Member News

Listing of Awards and Deadlines for January 2013

1 January 2013 No Comment

Gertrude Cox

The Gertrude M. Cox Award Committee is seeking nominees for the 2013 Gertrude M. Cox Award.

This award is made possible by funding from RTI International, and the recipient is chosen by a six-person committee—three each from WSS and RTI. This year’s committee consists of Keith Rust (co-chair), Jonaki Bose, and Nancy Bates from WSS and Marcus Berzofsky, Phil Kott, and Karol Krotki (co-chair) from RTI. Past recipients include Swharon Lohr, Alan Zaslavsky, Tom Belin, Vance Berger, Francesca Domenici, Thomas Lumley, Jean Opsomer, Michael Elliott, Nilanjan Chatterjee, and Amy Herring.

The award includes a $1,000 honorarium, travel expenses to attend the Washington Statistical Society’s (WSS) annual dinner, and a commemorative plaque.

The award was established in 2003 through a joint agreement between the WSS and RTI International to annually recognize a statistician in early to mid-career (less than 15 years after his/her terminal degree) who has made significant contributions to one or more of the areas of applied statistics in which Gertrude Cox worked: survey methodology, experimental design, biostatistics, and statistical computing.

In 1945, Gertrude Cox became director of the Institute of Statistics of the Consolidated University of North Carolina. In the 1950s, as head of the department of experimental statistics at North Carolina State College, she played a key role in establishing mathematical statistics and biostatistics departments at The University of North Carolina. Upon her retirement from North Carolina State University in 1960, Cox became the first head of the statistical research division at the newly founded RTI. She was a founding member of the International Biometric Society (IBS) and, in 1949, became the first woman elected into the International Statistical Institute. She served as president of both The American Statistical Association (1956) and the IBS (1968–1969). In 1975, she was elected to the National Academy of Sciences.

The award is presented at the WSS annual dinner, usually held in June, with the recipient delivering a talk on a topic of general interest to the WSS membership before the dinner.

Email your nominations to Karol Krotki at kkrotki@rti.org by February 28 with a supporting statement and CV (or link).

Ellis R. Ott

Governing Board
Susan Albin
Lynne Hare
J. Stuart Hunter
Tom Murphy
Dean V. Neubauer
Robert Perry
Susan Schall
Ronald Snee

The statistics division of the American Society for Quality has $7,500 scholarships to support students who are enrolled in, or are accepted into, a master’s degree or higher program with a concentration in applied statistics and/or quality management. This includes the theory and application of statistical inference, statistical decisionmaking, experimental design, analysis and interpretation of data, statistical process control, quality control, quality assurance, quality improvement, quality management, and related fields. The emphasis is on applications, as opposed to theory. Studies must take place at North-American institutions.

Qualified applicants must have graduated in good academic standing in any field of undergraduate study. Scholarship awards are based on demonstrated ability, academic achievement, industrial and teaching experience, involvement in student or professional organizations, faculty recommendations, and career objectives.

Application instructions and forms are available for download and accepted until April 1.

Throughout the last 15 years, scholarships totaling $215,000 have been awarded to 38 students. Last year’s winners include Emily E. Wisner of North Carolina State University and Nathaniel Stevens of the University of Waterloo, Ontario, Canada.

For more information, contact Lynne Hare at lynnehare@verizon.net or 55 Buckskin Path, Plymouth, MA 02360.

Roger Herriot

Nominations are sought for the 2013 Roger Herriot Award for Innovation in Federal Statistics. The award is intended to reflect the special characteristics that marked Roger Herriot’s career, including dedication to the issues of measurement, improvements in the efficiency of data-collection programs, and improvements and use of statistical data for policy analysis.

The award is not limited to senior members of an organization, nor is it to be considered as a culmination of a long period of service. Individuals or teams at all levels within federal statistical agencies, other government organizations, nonprofit organizations, the private sector, and the academic community may be nominated based on their contributions. Team nominations are encouraged.

The recipient of the award will be chosen by a committee comprising representatives of the Washington Statistical Society and Social Statistics and Government Statistics sections of the American Statistical Association. The award consists of a $1,000 honorarium and a framed citation, which will be presented at a ceremony at the Joint Statistical Meetings in August. The Washington Statistical Society also will host a seminar given by the winner on a subject of his or her choosing.

Nomination packages should contain the following:

  • A cover letter from the nominator that includes references to specific examples of the nominee’s contributions to innovation in federal statistics. These contributions can be to methodology, procedure, organization, administration, or other areas of federal statistics and need not have been made by or while a federal employee.
    Up to six letters of support that demonstrate the innovativeness of each contribution.
  • An updated vita for the nominee with current contact information. For team nominations, vitae for all team members should be included.

Completed packages must be received by April 1. Electronic submissions in Word or PDF format are strongly encouraged. The committee may consider nominations made for prior years, but it encourages resubmission of those nominations with updated information.

For more information, contact Jill M. Montaquila, chair of the 2013 Roger Herriot Award Committee, at jillmontaquila@westat.com

Visit the award website for more information and to read about Herriot’s life.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.