Home » Award Deadlines and Information, Member News

Listing of Awards and Deadlines for January 2016

1 January 2016 No Comment

Spiegelman Award

The Applied Public Health Statistics Section of the American Public Health Association (APHA) invites nominations for the 2016 Mortimer Spiegelman Award, which honors a statistician below the age of 40 in the calendar year of the award who has made outstanding contributions to health statistics, especially public health statistics.

The award was established in 1970 and is presented annually at the APHA meeting. It serves the following three purposes:

  • To honor the outstanding achievements of both the recipient and Spiegelman
  • To encourage further involvement in public health by the finest young statisticians
  • To increase awareness of APHA and the Applied Public Health Statistics Section in the academic statistical community

To be eligible, a candidate must satisfy one of the following two criteria:

  • He/she cannot turn 40 before December 31, 2016
  • For those who may have gone to school at a later age but are still early career, the candidate must have received their terminal statistics-related degree in 2006 or later

Nominations are due April 1, 2016. Email a nominating letter that states the candidate’s date of birth and how their contributions relate to public health concerns, up to three letters of support, and the candidate’s CV to the award committee chair, Debashis Ghosh, at debashis.ghosh@ucdenver.edu.

Waksberg Award

The journal Survey Methodology established an annual invited paper series in honor of Joe Waksberg to recognize his contributions to survey methodology. Each year, a prominent survey statistician is chosen to write a paper that reviews the development and current state of an important topic in the field of survey methodology. The paper reflects the mixture of theory and practice that characterized Joe Waksberg’s work.

Recent Waksberg Award Honorees

  • Don Dillman (2016)
  • Robert Groves (2015)
  • Connie Citro (2014)
  • Ken Brewer (2013)
  • Lars Lyberg (2012)

The recipient of the Waksberg Award will receive an honorarium and give the 2017 Waksberg Invited Address at the Statistics Canada Symposium, to be held in the autumn of 2017. The paper will be published in a future issue of Survey Methodology (Targeted for December 2017).

The author of the 2017 Waksberg paper will be selected by a four-person committee appointed by Survey Methodology and the American Statistical Association. Nomination of individuals to be considered as authors or suggestions for topics should be sent before February 28 to Tommy Wright, committee chair, at tommy.wright@census.gov.

Mu Sigma Rho Outstanding Teaching Faculty

Mu Sigma Rho invites academic institutions to nominate outstanding teaching faculty for the Mu Sigma Rho William D. Warde Statistics Education Award. The recipient must have evidence of excellence in classroom teaching in the statistics discipline and a lifetime devotion to statistics education.

Each academic institution is allowed one nomination per year. In the event that more than one nomination is received from a single institution in a year, only the first will be considered. Any college or institution may nominate a potential recipient, regardless of whether the institution has an active Mu Sigma Rho chapter.

Each nomination should include the following:

  • A cover letter
  • The nominee’s curriculum vita
  • A summary of the nominee’s teaching and educational activities
  • A draft of a citation briefly describing the nominee’s accomplishments
  • At least three letters supporting the nomination, of which at least two come from present or former students and at least one comes from a colleague

If a nominee is not selected for the award, the nomination will remain active for three years, unless the institution chooses to put forward another nominee.

Questions and nominations should be sent to Ananda Jayawardhana at ajayawardhana@pittstate.edu by February 1. Please include all nomination material in a single PDF document.

The recipient of the award will be notified on or before March 15 and be presented a plaque during the Sunday awards ceremony at JSM 2016 in Chicago.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.