Home » Award Deadlines and Information, Member News

Awards and Deadlines for March 2016

1 March 2016 No Comment

Jeanne E. Griffith Mentoring Award

Nominations are sought for the 2016 Jeanne E. Griffith Mentoring Award. Established to encourage mentoring of junior staff in the statistical community in the federal, state, or local government, this recognition is awarded annually to a supervisor; technical director; team coordinator; or other member of federal, state, or local government statistical staff for his or her efforts in supporting the work and developing the careers of junior statisticians. The award consists of $1,000, a citation, and a plaque, which will be presented at a ceremony arranged by the cosponsors in June.

The Jeanne E. Griffith Mentoring Award was established to honor Griffith, who died in August 2001 after working for more than 25 years in the federal statistical system. Throughout her career, especially in her later senior management positions at the National Center for Education Statistics and National Science Foundation, one of her highest priorities was to mentor and encourage younger staff at all levels to learn, grow, and recognize and seize career opportunities.

Nominations should be prepared in the form of a letter or memorandum for the selection committee. The letter or memorandum should summarize the nominee’s actions that support and encourage junior statisticians in the federal, state, or local statistical community to develop their careers. Nominations, which are due April 4, may be accompanied by up to six supporting letters from a supervisor and coworkers.

Members of the award committee will choose a winner by May 13. Learn more about the award and the nominating process. Contact Rick Peterson at rick@amstat.org or Anna Nevius at nevius@comcast.net with questions.

Jerome Sacks Award

Nominations are sought for the 2016 National Institute of Statistical Sciences’ (NISS) Jerome Sacks Award for Outstanding Cross-Disciplinary Research. The prize recognizes sustained, high-quality cross-disciplinary research involving the statistical sciences.

An award of $1,000 will be presented during the NISS/Statistical and Applied Mathematical Sciences Institute reception at the Joint Statistical Meetings in Chicago July 30 to August 4.

To nominate an individual, submit as one PDF document the following information to sacksaward2016@niss.org by May 1:

  1. Nomination letter (maximum two pages)
  2. Supporting letters from two individuals (other than nominator)
  3. The nominee’s CV

Learn more and see the list of previous winners. Questions about the award or nomination process can be sent to kkantner@niss.org.

Julius Shiskin Memorial Award for Economic Statistics

Nominations are invited for the annual Julius Shiskin Memorial Award for Economic Statistics. The Award is given in recognition of unusually original and important contributions in the development of economic statistics or in the use of statistics in interpreting the economy. Contributions can be in development of new statistical measures, statistical research, use of economic statistics to analyze and interpret economic activity, development of statistical tools, management of statistical programs, or application of data production techniques.

Individuals and groups in the public or private sector from any country can be nominated. The award will be presented with an honorarium of $1,000 plus additional recognition from the sponsors: Washington Statistical Society, National Association for Business Economics, and ASA Business and Economics Statistics Section. Brent Moulton received last year’s award. A nomination form and list of previous recipients are available on the ASA website.

Completed nominations must be received by March 31, 2016.

For questions or more information, please contact Thomas Evans, Julius Shiskin Award Committee Secretary, via email at evans.thomas@bls.gov.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.