Home » Award Deadlines and Information, Member News

Nominations Sought for Ethel Newbold Prize

1 September 2022 No Comment

The Bernoulli Society’s Newbold Prize Committee invites nominations for the fourth Ethel Newbold Prize, which is awarded biannually to an outstanding statistical scientist in early- or mid-career for work that represents excellence in research in mathematical statistics and/or excellence in research that links developments in a substantive field to new advances in statistics.

Ethel May Newbold (1882–1933) was an English statistician and the first woman to be awarded the Guy Medal in Silver by the Royal Statistical Society, in 1928. During her academic career (1921–1930), she published 17 papers in statistics and subject-matter journals. Read more about Newbold in the Journal of the Royal Statistical Society from 1933.

The name of the prize recognizes a historically important role of women in statistics. The prize, itself, is for excellence in statistics without reference to the gender of the recipient. In any year in which the award is due, the prize will not be awarded unless the set of all nominations includes candidates from both genders.

The award consists of a cash prize of 2,500 euros and a certificate. The awardee will be invited to present a talk at a Bernoulli World Congress, Bernoulli-sponsored major conference, or ISI World Statistics Congress.

Each nomination should include a letter outlining the case in support of the nominee, along with a curriculum vitae. Nominations, as well as any inquiries about the award, should be sent to Gesine Reinert. The deadline for nominations is November 30; the prize winner will be selected in the spring of 2023.

Newbold Prize Committee Members: Gesine Reinert, chair; Adrian Röllin and Susan Murphy

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.