Home » Departments, Meetings

ASA Honors Founders, Inducts 47 Fellows

2 October 2023 544 views No Comment

A special feature of the Joint Statistical Meetings is the ASA President’s Address and Awards, during which the Founders Award winners are announced and the new ASA Fellows are inducted.

The Founders Award recognizes members who have rendered distinguished service to the association. Those selected have served the association for an extended time, usually in a variety of leadership roles wherein effective service or leadership was provided within the ASA or through ASA outreach to other organizations. The following are being honored in 2023 for rendering distinguished service to the association:

Karen Kafadar

Karen Kafadar

University of Virginia

For nearly 30 years of service to the ASA, including serving as council representative for the Colorado-Wyoming Chapter, editor of Technometrics, JSM program chair for the Section on Physical and Engineering Sciences, and chair of the Section on Statistical Computing on two separate occasions; for service on nine ASA committees and task forces, including outstanding leadership on the Forensic Science Advisory Committee and Climate Change Advisory Committee; for two terms as a member of the Committee on Publications and two terms on the ASA Board of Directors as publications representative; and for outstanding leadership as the 2019 ASA president.

Amarjot KaurAmarjot Kaur

Merck & Co.

For thoughtful financial leadership of the ASA, including service on the Development Committee, Investments Committee, and ASA Board of Directors as treasurer; for service on the Committee on Fellows, Deming Lectureship Committee, Committee on Applied Statisticians, and Membership Growth Working Group; for leadership in launching the Council of Industry Representatives; for enhancing connections between the ASA and International Indian Statistical Association during presidency of that association; and for relentless interest in ensuring that diverse voices are heard and contribute to the success of the ASA.

Mary J. KwasnyMary J. Kwasny

Northwestern University

For leadership of ASA chapters—including long and outstanding service to the Chicago Chapter, having taken on nearly every leadership role for that chapter—serving as chair of the Council of Chapters Governing Board, and serving on the ASA Board of Directors as Council of Chapters representative; for helping create the Harry V. Roberts Award and leading the award committee; for serving as publications officer for the Section on Statistical Consulting; for serving on the Committee on Nominations and Conference on Statistical Practice Steering Committee; and for leading the ASA’s fundraising work as chair of the Development Committee.

Vijayan NairVijayan N. Nair

University of Michigan

For service to the ASA spanning more than 30 years; for leading the journal Technometrics as its editor and also by chairing its management committee; for serving on and chairing the Committee on Publications; for serving on the Outstanding Statistical Application Award Committee and Committee on Energy Statistics; for service on the selection committee for the International Prize in Statistics; for leadership on the Committee on Nominations, particularly developing and clarifying procedures; and for providing guidance and wise advice to the association on many occasions.

Theresa UtlautTheresa L. Utlaut

Intel Corporation

For chairing the Quality and Productivity Statistics Section and Council of Sections Governing Board; for leadership of the Oregon Chapter in several roles, including president; for leadership in launching the ASA Accreditation Program, including serving as chair of the Accreditation Committee; for chairing the Committee on Membership Retention and Recruitment and Committee on Nominations; for serving on the Constitution and Bylaws Review Task Force and Task Force on Sexual Harassment and Assault; and for 10 years of leadership and support of ASA involvement in the International Science and Engineering Fair.


Each year, ASA Fellows are nominated by the membership and selected by the ASA Committee on Fellows. The following 47 fellows were inducted this year:

  • Tony B. An, SAS Institute
  • Marcus Berzofsky, RTI International
  • Erica Brittain, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
  • Nichole E. Carlson, Colorado School of Public Health
  • Matias D. Cattaneo, Princeton University
  • Debbie Cheng, Boston University
  • Jason T. Connor, ConfluenceStat
  • Daniel S. Cooley, Colorado State University
  • Xinping Cui, University of California, Riverside
  • Adrian Dobra, University of Washington
  • David J. Edwards, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Wenjiang Fu, University of Houston and Michigan State University
  • Margaret Gamalo, Pfizer
  • Phyllis A. Gimotty, University of Pennsylvania
  • Kalyan Glosh, Inference
  • Emily Griffith, North Carolina State University
  • Samuel Christopher Haffer, US Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
  • Tailen Hsing, University of Michigan
  • Zonghui Hu, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
  • Bo Huang, Pfizer
  • Jing Huang, Veracyte
  • Booil Jo, Stanford University
  • William Evan Johnson, Rutgers University
  • Daniel T. Kaplan, Macalester College
  • Sunduz Keles, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Joseph Koopmeiners, University of Minnesota
  • Robert Todd Krafty, Emory University
  • Shujie Ma, University of California, Riverside
  • Himel Mallick, Merck Research Laboratories
  • Tyler Harris McCormick, University of Washington
  • Yajun Mei, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • XuanLong Nguyen, University of Michigan
  • Jing Ning, MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • Layla Parast, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Marianna Pensky, University of Central Florida
  • Inna T. Perevozskaya, GSK
  • Robert W. Platt, McGill University
  • Nancy Potok, NAPx Consulting
  • Chad M. Schafer, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Deo Kumar Srivastave, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital
  • Alisa Stephens-Shields, University of Pennsylvania
  • Kert Viele, Berry Consultants
  • Lu Wang, University of Michigan
  • Xiaofeng Wang, Cleveland Clinic
  • Daniel L. Weiner
  • Lingzhou Xue, The Pennsylvania State University
  • Corwin M. Zigler, The University of Texas at Austin
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.