Home » Award Deadlines and Information, Member News

Awards and Deadlines for May 2016

2 May 2016 No Comment

William G. Hunter Award Call for Nominations

The American Society for Quality (ASQ) Statistics Division is accepting nominations for its 2016 William G. Hunter Award.

The statistics division established the William G. Hunter Award in 1987 to encourage and promote outstanding accomplishments during a career in the broad field of applied statistics and recognize implementers who get results.

Hunter was the founding chair of the statistics division of the American Society for Quality Control (now American Society for Quality). His leadership as a communicator, consultant, educator, and innovator and his ability to integrate statistical thinking into many disciplines serve as exemplary models for the division’s members.

Any outstanding leader in the field of applied statistics, regardless of ASQ or ASQ Statistics Division membership status, is qualified. Candidates must have demonstrated a high level of professionalism, significant contributions to the field, and a history of inspirational leadership. A person may be nominated many times, but can win the award only once.

The nominator must have the permission of the person being nominated and letters from at least two other people supporting the nomination. Claims of accomplishments must be supported by objective evidence. Examples include publication lists and letters from peers. Nominators are encouraged to read “William G. Hunter: An Innovator and Catalyst for Quality Improvement,” written by George Box in 1993 to get a better idea of the characteristics this award seeks to recognize.

Nominations will be accepted until June 30. Those received after June 30 will be held until next year. A committee of past leaders of the statistics division selects the winner, and the award is presented at the Fall Technical Conference in October.

The award criteria and nomination form can be downloaded or obtained from Necip Doganaksoy at necipdoganaksoy@gmail.com.

Janet Norwood Award for Outstanding Achievement by a Woman in the Statistical Sciences

The department of biostatistics and school of public health at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) are requesting nominations for the 14th annual Janet L. Norwood Award for Outstanding Achievement by a Woman in the Statistical Sciences.

The honoree will deliver a lecture at the UAB award ceremony on September 14. In addition to the $5,000 prize, all travel expenses will be covered.

Eligible individuals are women who have completed their terminal degree, have made extraordinary contributions, and have developed an outstanding record of service to the statistical sciences, with an emphasis on both their own scholarship and teaching and leadership of the field in general and of women in particular.

Send a full curriculum vitae accompanied by a letter of not more than two pages describing the nature of the candidate’s contributions. Contributions may be in the area of development and evaluation of statistical methods, teaching of statistics, application of statistics, or any other activity that can arguably be said to have advanced the field of statistical science. Self-nominations are acceptable.

Nominations should be sent to David B. Allison at dallison@uab.edu by June 24. Electronic submissions are encouraged. The honoree will be announced by July 4. If selected, the honoree must be willing to deliver a lecture at the award ceremony. 

Visit the website for details about the award.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.