Home » Award Deadlines and Information, Member News

Call for Nominations: Jeanne E. Griffith Mentoring Award

1 December 2019 No Comment
Previous Recipients
2003 – Richard D. Allen, National Agricultural Statistics Service
2004 – Beth A. Kilss, Internal Revenue Service
2005 – Renee Miller, Energy Information Administration
2006 – Martin O’Connell, US Census Bureau
2007 – Stephanie Shipp, National Institute for Standards and Technology
2008 – Rosemary Marcuss, Bureau of Economic Analysis
2009 – Kevin Cecco, Internal Revenue Service, and Lillian Lin, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
2010 – Deborah H. Griffin, US Census Bureau
2011 – Jenise L. Swall, US Environmental Protection Agency
2012 – William P. Mockovak, Bureau of Labor Statistics
2013 – Brian Harris-Kojetin, Office of Management and Budget
2014 – J. Gregory Robinson, US Census Bureau, and Kenneth C. Schoendorf, National Center for Health Statistics
2015 – Aldo “Skip” Vecchia, US Geological Survey
2016 – Diane K. Willimack, US Census Bureau
2017 – Cynthia Ogden, National Center for Health Statistics
2018 – Howard Hogan, US Census Bureau
2018 – Carol Gotway Crawford, US Government Accountability Office
2019 – Sharon Boivin, National Center for Education Statistics

Award Sponsors
American Educational Research Association
American Institutes for Research
Council of Professional Associations on Federal Statistics
ASA Government Statistics Section
Interagency Council on Statistical Policy
Research Triangle Institute
ASA Social Statistics Section
Washington Statistical Society

Nominations for the 2020 Jeanne E. Griffith Mentoring Award will be accepted until March 22. The award recipient—a supervisor, technical director, team coordinator, or other statistical staff member—will be selected for his or her efforts to support the work and develop the careers of junior staff in the statistical community in federal, state, or local government. Preference will be given to individuals with a track record of mentoring government statisticians. Examples of typical mentoring activities include the following:

  • Advising junior staff to help them create career opportunities, networking skills, and contacts for growth and development
  • Counseling junior staff and providing resources to help develop their technical writing, analysis, presentation, and organizational skills and knowledge
  • Encouraging the growth and career development of junior staff through attendance and oral presentations at meetings with higher-level officials, staff of other agencies, professional associations, training courses, and conferences
  • Motivating junior staff and building self-confidence by providing feedback, being a listener when needed, and creating a caring and supportive environment
  • Serving as a role model for junior staff through professional expertise; information and insight; the balance of collegial and personal roles; and the inclusion of everyone regardless of rank, race, ethnicity, gender identity, or seniority

The award was established to honor Jeanne E. Griffith, who died in August 2001 after working for more than 25 years in the federal statistical system. Throughout her career, and especially in her latter senior management positions at the National Center for Education Statistics and the National Science Foundation, one of Griffith’s highest priorities was to mentor and encourage younger staff at all levels to learn and grow, as well as recognize and seize career opportunities as they came along.

The nomination form and guidelines are available from the Government Statistics Section website. The award committee will determine the award winner in April. The award will consist of a $1,000 honorarium, citation, and plaque, which will be presented at a ceremony arranged by the cosponsors.

The nomination package must be emailed to ASA Professional Development and Sections and Chapters Manager Rick Peterson or mailed to the Jeanne E. Griffith Mentoring Award Committee c/o The American Statistical Association, 732 N. Washington St., Alexandria, VA 22314-1943.

Questions about the award can be addressed to Peterson or the chair of the award committee, Bill Mockovak.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.