Home » Award Deadlines and Information, Member News

Nominations Sought for Annie T. Randall Innovator Award

1 February 2021 No Comment

Annie T. Randall

The Annie T. Randall Innovator Award was established to recognize early-career statistical innovators across all job sectors and with any level of educational attainment. The award was named in honor of pathbreaking Black female statistician Annie T. Randall for her pioneering career in government amid pervasive racial discrimination. Her powerful story and legacy in statistics are an inspiration to future generations of trailblazers. Established in 2020 by the Biometrics Section, the award provides a $2,000 prize each year.

Selection Criteria

Winners are selected by the Annie T. Randall Innovator Award Committee. To be eligible for the award, candidates should be in the early phase of their professional statistical careers. While no more than 10 years into their career is a guideline, career interruptions and transitions would not be included in this count. The committee appreciates that nontraditional paths are common for trailblazers, and thus there is no firm cutoff for the definition of early phase. There are also no degree requirements for this award.

A personal statement or nomination letter should discuss how the candidate has pushed boundaries in statistics toward the betterment of the field and society, as well as how they embody Annie T. Randall’s tenacious and resolute commitment to excellence. How the candidate meets the broad definition of early career described above should also be addressed in the personal statement or nomination letter.

Award Recipient Responsibilities

The award recipient is responsible for providing a current photograph and general personal information the year the award is presented. The American Statistical Association uses this information to publicize the award and prepare the check and certificate.


Self-nomination or nomination by someone other than the candidate is welcome. Individuals from underrepresented and historically excluded groups in statistics are encouraged to apply. Submissions are due by March 15 each year and should include the following:

  • Candidate résumé or CV
  • Candidate personal statement or nomination letter (1–2 pages)

Send nominations and any questions to award committee chair, Sherri Rose.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.