Home » Award Deadlines and Information

Jeanne E. Griffith Mentoring Award Accepting Nominations

1 March 2024 256 views No Comment

The Jeanne E. Griffith Mentoring Award recognizes and encourages mentoring junior staff in the statistical community in federal, state, or local government. It is awarded annually to a supervisor, technical director, team coordinator, or other statistical staff member who is nominated by a supervisor or co-workers their efforts in supporting the work and developing the careers of junior staff.

The award was established to honor Jeanne E. Griffith, who died in August 2001 after working for more than 25 years in the federal statistical system. Throughout her career, and especially in her senior management positions at the National Center for Education Statistics and the National Science Foundation, one of Griffith’s priorities was to mentor and encourage younger staff at all levels to learn, to grow, and to recognize and seize career opportunities as they came along.

The award recipient will be selected for their efforts in supporting the work and developing the careers of junior staff. Preference will be given to nominees with a track record of mentoring government statisticians. Examples of typical mentoring activities include:

  • Advising junior staff to help them create career opportunities, networking skills, and contacts for growth and development
  • Counseling junior staff and providing resources to develop their technical writing, analysis, presentation, and organizational skills and knowledge
  • Encouraging junior staff growth and career development through attendance and oral presentations at meetings with higher level officials, staff of other agencies, professional associations, training courses, and conferences
  • Motivating junior staff and building self-confidence by providing feedback, being a listener, and creating a caring and supportive environment
  • Serving as a role model through professional expertise, information and insights, balancing collegial and personal roles, and including everyone regardless of rank, race, ethnicity, gender identity, or seniority

Nominations for the 2024 award are now being accepted.

Nominations are due by May 15, and the award committee will determine the award winner by end of June. The award will consist of a $1,000 honorarium, a citation, and a plaque, which will be presented at a ceremony arranged by the co-sponsors.

The nomination package must be mailed to:

The Jeanne E. Griffith Mentoring Award Committee
c/o The American Statistical Association
732 N. Washington Street
Alexandria, VA 22314-1943

To submit electronically, email the nomination package to Rick Peterson.

If you have questions about the award, please contact Rick Peterson or award committee chair Raji Sundaram. Visit the Government Statistics web page to view previous award recipients and sponsors. Contact Anna Nevius if your organization would like to co-sponsor the award.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.