Home » Biometrics, Section News

Meetings, Awards Highlight Section Activities

1 November 2010 No Comment
Edited by Page Moore, Biometrics Section Publications Officer

The Biometrics Section has a strong program planned for the ENAR Spring Meeting, to be held in Miami, Florida, from March 20–23, 2011.

This year’s Presidential Invited Speaker is Xiao-Li Meng of Harvard University, who has made fundamental contributions to inference with missing data, Bayesian statistics, and Markov chain Monte Carlo computation.

The Institute of Mathematical Statistics Medallion Lecturer is Heping Zhang of Yale University, whose research interests span classification methodology, mixture models, and applications in genetics and imaging.

The continuing education program consists of eight short courses, six tutorials, and 11 roundtable discussions. The workshop, “Fostering Diversity in Biostatistics,” will provide a forum for discussing important issues related to diversity. Themes of the workshop will include career and training opportunities within biostatistics.

Finally, up to 20 distinguished student paper awards will be presented. Visit the ENAR website for the complete invited portion of the scientific program, along with details for submitting abstracts (due November 15) and conference registration.

2011 Joint Statistical Meetings

The 2011 JSM Biometrics Section program chair, Tianxi Cai, is collecting proposals for topic-contributed sessions. If you are interested in organizing one, contact her at tcai@hsph.harvard.edu. While the deadline for submitting topic-contributed session abstracts is February 2, 2011, proposals should be sent to Cai as early as possible.

Topic-contributed sessions are a nice alternative to contributed sessions because the sessions are organized around a central topic, the talks are longer (20 minutes), and discussants may be included. All sessions consist of five speakers (e.g., four speakers and one discussant; three speakers and two discussants).

Byar Young Investigator Award

Do you know a young investigator who is planning to submit an abstract for the 2011 Joint Statistical Meetings? If so, you might mention that the ASA Biometrics Section is seeking applications for the 2011 David P. Byar Young Investigator Award. This annual award is given to a young investigator for best emerging work to be presented during JSM. The award commemorates the late David Byar, a biostatistician who made significant contributions to the development and application of statistical methods and was esteemed as an exceptional mentor during his career at the National Cancer Institute. The winner will receive a $1,500 award. Additionally, the section may provide travel awards to the authors of other outstanding papers submitted to the competition.

Applicants must have held a doctorate in statistics, biostatistics, or a related quantitative field for three or fewer years as of April 1 of the current year or be enrolled as a doctoral student in statistics or biostatistics and in active pursuit of a doctoral degree. They also must be current members of the ASA Biometrics Section and first author of the paper submitted. (Membership in the ASA does not automatically confer section membership. Applicants may join at the time of submission for a $5 annual membership fee.)

The paper may be submitted to a journal or under review, but may not have appeared online or in print at the time of the application or have been accepted for publication as of January 1, 2011. Also, the paper may not have been submitted to any other ASA section student/young investigator award competition.

Finally, applicants must be scheduled to present the submitted paper at JSM 2011 in Miami, Florida, as a talk or poster presentation.

Applicants must submit their JSM abstracts to the Biometrics Section in addition to submitting them to the ASA by February 1, 2011. They also must contact Cai at tcai@hsph.harvard.edu prior to the abstract deadline. The section will organize a series of topic-contributed sessions to highlight the submitted papers.

By March 1, applicants should complete their application by submitting a cover letter certifying that they meet the eligibility requirements and are not submitting the paper to another ASA section student/young investigator award competition, a current CV, and one copy of the finished paper. All materials must be submitted electronically to Barry Graubard, section chair, at graubarb@mail.nih.gov.

The 2011 awards committee is composed of the current and past section chairs and chair-elect, as well as three individuals appointed by the section chairs. Visit the section’s website for more information.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.