Home » Award Deadlines and Information, Member News

Listing of Awards and Deadlines for March 2012

1 March 2012 No Comment

Cox Award

Members of the Gertrude M. Cox Award Committee are seeking nominations for the 2012 Gertrude M. Cox Award.

The annual award recognizes a statistician in early to mid-career (fewer than 15 years after his/her terminal degree) who has made significant contributions to survey methodology, experimental design, biostatistics, and statistical computing.

The award is presented at the Washington Statistical Society’s (WSS) annual dinner, held in June, with the recipient delivering the keynote address on a topic of general interest to the WSS membership. The award consists of a $1,000 honorarium, travel expenses to attend the WSS annual dinner, and a commemorative WSS plaque.

Nominations should be emailed to Karol Krotki at kkrotki@rti.org by March 16. A supporting statement and CV (or a link to one) for the candidate should be included.

The award is in memory of Gertrude M. Cox (1900–1978). In 1945, Cox became director of the Institute of Statistics of the Consolidated University of North Carolina. In the 1950s, as head of the department of experimental statistics at North Carolina State College, she played a key role in establishing mathematical statistics and biostatistics departments at The University of North Carolina. Upon her retirement from North Carolina State University in 1960, Cox became the first head of the statistical research division at the newly founded RTI. She was a founding member of the International Biometric Society (IBS) and, in 1949, became the first woman elected into the International Statistical Institute. She served as president of both the American Statistical Association and IBS. In 1975, she was elected to the National Academy of Sciences.

Spiegelman Award

The Statistics Section of the American Public Health Association (APHA) invites nominations for the 2012 Mortimer Spiegelman Award, which honors a statistician 40 years of age or younger who has made outstanding contributions to health statistics, especially public health statistics.

The award was established in 1970 and is presented annually at the APHA meeting.

Candidates for the Spiegelman award must have been born in 1972 or later. Please send electronic versions of a nominating letter and the candidate’s CV by April 2 to the Spiegelman Award Committee, c/o Rafael A. Irizarry (chair), at rafa@jhu.edu.

Ellis R. Ott Scholarship

The Statistics Division of the American Society for Quality has $7,500 scholarships to support students who are enrolled in or accepted into a master’s degree or higher program with a concentration in applied statistics and/or quality management. This includes the theory and application of statistical inference, statistical decisionmaking, experimental design, analysis and interpretation of data, statistical process control, quality control, quality assurance, quality improvement, quality management, and related fields. The emphasis is on applications.

Qualified applicants must have graduated in good academic standing in any field of undergraduate study. Scholarship awards are based on demonstrated ability, academic achievement, industrial and teaching experience, involvement in student or professional organizations, faculty recommendations, and career objectives.

Application instructions and forms can be downloaded from the ASQ website, and applications will be accepted until April 1.

Throughout the last 14 years, scholarships totaling $200,000 have been awarded to 34 students.

For more information, contact Lynne Hare at lynne.hare@comcast.net or 55 Buckskin Path, Plymouth, MA 02360.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.