Home » Award Deadlines and Information, Member News

$7,500 Scholarships Available

1 January 2021 No Comment

The Statistics Division of the American Society for Quality is accepting applications for $7,500 Ellis R. Ott scholarships to support students who are enrolled in, or are accepted into enrollment in, a master’s degree or higher program with a concentration in applied statistics and/or quality management. This includes the theory and application of statistical inference, statistical decision-making, experimental design, analysis and interpretation of data, statistical process control, quality control, quality assurance, quality improvement, quality management, and related fields. The emphasis is on applications as opposed to theory. Studies must take place at US or Canadian institutions; online and in-class programs are included.

Year 2020–2021 scholarship winners are the following:

  • Mervin Woodlin Jr., Villanova University, in the MS category
  • Jialei Chen, Georgia Tech University, in the PhD category

During the last 24 years, scholarships totaling more than $345,000 have been awarded to 60 students.

Qualified applicants must have graduated in good academic standing in any field of undergraduate study. Scholarship awards are based on demonstrated ability, academic achievement, industrial and teaching experience, involvement in student or professional organizations, faculty recommendations, and career objectives.

Download application instructions and forms from the ASQ website. Forms are due by April 1.

For more information, email Lynne B. Hare or write to 55 Buckskin Path, Plymouth, MA 02360.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.