Home » Award Deadlines and Information, Member News

Ellis R. Ott Scholarship Provides $7,500 to ‘Quality’ Students

1 January 2022 No Comment

Ott Scholarship Governing Board

Lynne Hare
Mindy Hotchkiss
J. Stuart Hunter
Tom Murphy
Marcus Perry
Robert Perry
Susan Schall
Joel Smith
Ronald Snee
J. Richard Trout
Neil Ullman

The Statistics Division of the American Society for Quality has $7,500 scholarships available to support students who are enrolled in, or are accepted into, a master’s degree or higher program with a concentration in applied statistics, statistical engineering, and/or quality management. This includes the theory and application of statistical inference, statistical decision-making, experimental design, analysis and interpretation of data, statistical process control, quality control, quality assurance, quality improvement, quality management, and related fields. The emphasis is on applications as opposed to theory. Studies must take place at US or Canadian institutions. Online and in-class programs are included.

Qualified applicants must have graduated in good academic standing in any field of undergraduate study. Scholarship awards are based on demonstrated ability, academic achievement, industrial and teaching experience, involvement in student or professional organizations, faculty recommendations, and career objectives.

Year 2021–2022 scholarship winners are:

  • Camila Burne, University of Texas at Austin, in the MS category
  • Venkata Varchasvi Vedula, Columbia University, in the MS category
  • Anja Zgodic, University of South Carolina, in the PhD category

During the last 24 years, scholarships totaling more than $360,000 have been awarded to 62 students.

Download application instructions and forms. Forms for the 2022–2023 academic year will be accepted until April 1.

For more information, contact Lynne B. Hare, 55 Buckskin Path, Plymouth, MA 02360.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.