Home » Biometrics, Member News, Section News

Section Gears Up for JSM 2010

1 December 2009 No Comment
Edited by Page Moore, Biometrics Section Publications Officer

Abstract submission opened December 1 for contributed and topic-contributed papers to be presented during JSM 2010, which will be held July 31 to August 5 in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. All abstracts are due February 1.

As an alternative to contributed sessions, topic-contributed sessions are organized around a central topic and include 20-minute talks and possible discussants. Typically, sessions consist of five speakers (e.g., four speakers and one discussant or three speakers and two discussants). JSM 2010 Biometrics Section program chair, Hormuzd Katki, is collecting proposals for topic-contributed talks. If you are interested in organizing a topic-contributed session, contact him at katkih@mail.nih.gov.

Topic-contributed panel sessions are another alternative. They usually include three to six panelists who work together to submit one abstract for all speakers.

Nominations Sought

Do you know a young investigator who is planning to submit an abstract for JSM? If so, you might mention that the ASA Biometrics Section is seeking applications for the 2010 David P. Byar Young Investigator Award. This annual award is given to a young investigator for best emerging work presented during JSM. The award commemorates the late David Byar, a biostatistician who made significant contributions to the development and application of statistical methods and was esteemed as an exceptional mentor during his career at the National Cancer Institute. The winner will receive $1,500. Additionally, the section may provide travel awards to the authors of other outstanding papers submitted to the competition.

Applicants must have held a doctorate in statistics, biostatistics, or a related quantitative field for three or fewer years as of April 1 of the current year or be enrolled as a doctoral student in statistics or biostatistics and in active pursuit of a doctoral degree. They also must be current members of the ASA Biometrics Section and first author of the paper submitted. (Membership in the ASA does not automatically confer section membership. Applicants may join at the time of submission for a $5 annual buy ativan online us membership fee.)

The paper may be submitted to a journal or under review, but may not have appeared online or in print at the time of the application or have been accepted for publication as of January 1, 2010. Also, the paper may not have been submitted to any other ASA section student/young investigator award competition.

Finally, applicants must be scheduled to present the submitted paper at JSM 2010 as a talk or poster presentation.

Applicants must submit their JSM abstracts to the Biometrics Section in addition to submitting them to the ASA by February 1, 2010. They also must contact Katki at katkih@mail.nih.gov prior to the abstract deadline. The section will organize a series of topic-contributed sessions to highlight the submitted papers.

By March 1, applicants should complete their application by submitting a cover letter certifying that they meet the eligibility requirements and are not submitting the paper to another ASA section student/young investigator award competition, a current CV, and one copy of the finished paper. All materials must be submitted electronically to Dan Heitjan, section chair, at dheitjan@upenn.edu.

The 2010 awards committee is composed of the current and past section chairs and chair-elect, as well as three individuals appointed by the section chairs.

Section Officers

With the arrival of 2010, we will have a new set of officers. There are a number of transitions involving the past chair, current chair, chair-elect, and chair-elect-elect. (The numerous chair positions are needed to distribute the work load of the overall chair position.) Current past chair Jeremy Taylor will be replaced by current chair Daniel Heitjan. Heitjan will be replaced by current chair-elect Barry Graubard, and Graubard will be replaced by current chair-elect-elect Jack Lee. The remaining officer transitions are as follows: Mousumi Banerjee replaces Diana Miglioretti as one of three Council of Sections representatives; Liang Li replaces Jinbo Chen as program chair for ENAR; and Hormuzd Katki replaces Wensheng Guo as JSM program chair.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Comments are closed.